Far Eastern
Design Bureau


StealthOptic, the helmet-mounted reflection system

StealthOptic  is a portable rear view system attached to helmet'svizor.

Description
The system is intended for use in motor sports, where conventional rear-view mirrors on the fairings are prohibited by the rules of the competition (motorcycle racing, karting).

StealthOptic is mounted at the visor's uppermost border (eyebrow level ). The device is designed not to obscure pilot's visual field. Just focus on the viewfinder is enough to assess the road situation behind.

StealthOptic reports the reflection of two active projections at the same time – rear and side views. The side view projection has the advantage. With a certain skill that comes with experience of use,one can distinguish objects of observation, by peripheral vision only .

Visible images are not distorted, that allows for objective assessment of the road situation. The location of high-quality reflectors virtually eliminates aberration and provides high image detail. All that is required from the pilot is to place the device properly on the visor.

Tests
Dynamic tests were carried out both on closed circuits and on public roads in Vladivostok. The device successfully withstood airresistance test at speeds up to 299 km/h .It also remained intact following drop test onto hard surface from height of 1.5 m.

For testing we used japanese full face helmets- Arai and Shoei, korean HJC andchinese equivalent of AGV. The device has even been assessed byan ophthalmologist, got approved ,and ,surprisingly, recommended as a training device for eye gymnastics.

How the invention solves the target audience problems
StealthOptics improves safety of motorcycle riding on public roads and serves as an addition(or replacement) to rear view mirrors.

Counterparts
None

Current stage of the invention
Serial production

Дальневосточное конструкторское бюро


Нашлемная рефлекторная система StealthOptic

StealthOptic — портативная система зеркал заднего вида для крепления на визор шлема.

Описание
Предназначен для использования в моторных видах спорта, где обычные зеркала заднего вида на обтекателе запрещены регламентом соревнований (мотогонки, картинг). 

StealthOptic крепится на визор у самой верхней границы визора на уровне бровей. Устройство разработано таким образом, чтобы не перекрывать основное поле зрения пилота. Для оценки дорожной ситуации достаточно сфокусировать взгляд на видоискателе. 

StealthOptic передает контрастное отражение двух активных проекций одновременно – вид сзади и сбоку. Преимущество имеет проекция бокового вида. При определенной сноровке, которая приходит с опытом использования, можно различать объекты наблюдения, обходясь лишь периферийным зрением. 

Видимые изображения не искажаются, что позволяет максимально объективно оценить дорожную ситуацию. Расположение высококачественных рефлекторов практически исключает аберрацию и дает высокую детализацию изображения. Все, что требуется от пилота – точно расположить устройство на визоре.

Испытания
Динамические испытания проводились как на закрытых треках, так и по дорогам общего пользования во Владивостоке. Устройство успешно выдержало сопротивление воздуха на скорости до 299 км/ч. При падении на твердую поверхность с высоты 1,5 м остается невредимым. 

Для испытаний использовались японские шлемы-интегралы Arai и Shoei, корейский HJC и китайский аналог AGV. Устройство даже побывало в руках офтальмолога, было одобрено и, что самое удивительное, рекомендовано как тренажер для гимнастики глаз. 

Как изобретение решает проблемы целевой аудитории
Повышает уровень безопасности езды на мотоцикле по дорогам общего пользования и как дополнение к зеркалам заднего вида или взамен их.

Аналоги
Нет.

На какой стадии изобретение
Серийное производство.